Omoshirogara オモシロガラ

01.10.2021 – 27.02.2022

Curators: Mikami Mariko, Negoro Miwa and Roger M. Buergel

The Museum DKM presents the extraordinary collection of historical kimonos by Yoshiko Inui (JP). Fashion reveals the drama of Japan’s rapid modernization around 1900 after its encounter with the West.
The kimonos will be shown together with contemporary works by Yu Araki (JP), Erika Kobayashi (JP), Jong Ok Ri (JP/KR), Kei Takemura (JP), Yuichiro Tamura (JP).

The exhibition is a joint project by Roger M. Buergel and the Foundation DKM.

Kimono from the Inui collection
Courtesy Inui Yohikō

It was a good 160 years ago that Japan reinvented itself. There was no alternative for the island empire, after all, the Western powers were at the door – with gunboats and a catalog of demands. And so began a historically unprecedented process of rapid modernization that encompassed all aspects of Japanese life: from family and gender relations to the educational system (school and university), the political constitution and administration, to industry and the military. As always, culture had the difficult task of mediating the stark tensions between tradition and innovation. This is why it is possible to reconstruct the history of modern Japan based on just one, albeit unique, item of clothing: the kimono.

Like the Imperial House, the kimono is a constant of Japanese life; it remains essentially the same. Precisely because the kimono does not alter its shape, the patterns that adorn it must change. «Exciting patterns» (this is what omoshirogara means) began to appear towards the end of the 19th century, when fashion also began to incorporate modernity: railways, battleships, airplanes, cinema, Mickey Mouse, postcards, or even newspaper reports of military exploits. If the patterns of the 1920s celebrated an optimistic internationalism with zeppelins and the Olympic Games, the the colors and symbols darken in the 1930s as Japan began dealings with Nazi Germany and Fascist Italy.

OMOSHIROGARA presents the collection of the Japanese textile historian and undisputed expert in the field, Yoshiko Inui (Prof.em., Tokai University, Sapporo [JP]). The exhibition was conceived by Yoshiko Inui and Roger M. Buergel, with academic advice from Hans B. Thomsen (Professor of East Asian Art History at the University of Zurich).

In addition to the kimonos from the Inui Collection, OMOSHIROGARA shows works by contemporary artists Yu Araki, Erika Kobayashi, Jong Ok Ri, Kei Takemura and Yuichiro Tamura. These works, selected by Miwa Negoro and Mariko Mikami, are an indispensable introduction to the afterlife of the crucial period of Japanese history between the Meiji Restoration (from 1868) and the end of the Pacific War (1945).

OMOSHIROGARA is curated by Roger M. Buergel, Miwa Negoro and Mariko Mikami.

www.omoshirogara.org

OMOSHIROGARA is the second exhibition Roger M. Buergel is developing for Museum DKM (the first, Barely Something (2010), focused on Ai Weiwei’s artistic combination of Western modernism and Chinese tradition). In the coming years, further exhibitions by Buergel are planned for Museum DKM that address global interconnections between Asia, Africa, and Europe.

Nenneko (short, padded kimono coveringfor a mother with baby), Foundation of Manchukuo, 1930s, Photo: SDKM

1933: Being accused by the League of Nations to have annexed Manchuria (Manchukuo in Japanese) illegally, the Japanese government rejected the Commission’s findings and withdrew from the League in March 1933. Apart from the white dove, the kimono-pattern shows the League of Nations-building in Geneva; steamboats on Lake Geneva; agricultural work on the plains of Manchuria; a map with a Japan that extends to Korea and Northeast China plus the flags of the US and GB with the flag of Manchukuo, Japan´s puppet state.

Scrap of cloth, Dōmei news (news reported by the News Agency Dōmei Tsūshinsha), c. 1930s, Photo: SDKM

Film follows history on a pattern from the 1930s.

Obi (belt), Hemp motif with flags, c.1940, Photo: SDKM

The Axis alliance recognized German domination over most of continental Europe; Italian domination over the Mediterranean Sea; and Japanese domination over East Asia and the Pacific.

Juban (Undergarment), Mickey Mouse, c.1930s, Photo: SDKM

Mickey Mouse being welcomed in the Empire of Manga, kimono-pattern 1920s.

Haori (Jacket), the slogan »Ichioku-Isshin« (One hundred million, one heart), c.1940, Photo: SDKM

How to live a proper Japanese life from dawn to dusk, kimono-pattern 1930s.

Loans

Collection Inui, Sapporo (JP)
Hakusasonso Hashimoto Kansetsu Garden & Museum, Kyoto (JP)
Taka Ishi Gallery, Tokyo (JP)
Yutaka Kikutake Gallery, Tokyo (JP)
Yuka Tsuruno Gallery, Tokyo (JP)
Gallery Q, Tokyo (JP)
Johann Jacobs Museum, Zurich (CH)
and private lenders

This exhibition is sponsored and suported:

Menu

Omoshirogara

オモシロガラ

01.10.2021 – 27.02.2022

Im Museum DKM wird die außergewöhnliche Sammlung historischer Kimonos von Yoshiko Inui (JP) präsentiert. In den Mustern und Symbolen offenbart sich das ganze Drama der japanischen Modernisierung um 1900, die durch die Begegnung mit dem Westen angestoßen wurde.

Die Kimonos werden zusammen mit zeitgenössischen Werken von Yu Araki (JP), Erika Kobayashi (JP), Jong Ok Ri (JP/KR), Kei Takemura (JP), Yuichiro Tamura (JP) gezeigt.

Die Ausstellung ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von Roger M. Buergel und der Stiftung DKM.

Kimono aus der Sammlung Inui
Courtesy Yoshiko Inui

Es ist gut 160 Jahre her, da erfand sich Japan neu. Es gab auch keine Alternative für das Inselreich, denn die Westmächte standen vor der Tür: mit Kanonenbooten und einem Katalog Forderungen. Damit begann ein Prozess der rapiden Modernisierung, der sämtliche Aspekte des japanischen Lebens ergriff – von der Familie und den Geschlechterbeziehungen über das Bildungssystem (Schule und Universität), die politische Verfassung und Verwaltung, bis hin zu Industrie und Militär. Der Kultur fiel die Aufgabe zu, die krassen Spannungen zwischen Tradition und Neuerung zu vermitteln. Genau deshalb ist es möglich die Geschichte des modernen Japan anhand nur eines, wiewohl einzigartigen Kleidungsstücks zu rekonstruieren: des Kimonos.

Gleich dem Kaiserhaus ist der Kimono eine Konstante des japanischen Lebens; er bleibt sich im Wesentlichen gleich. Weil nun der Kimono seine Form nicht ändert, müssen sich die Muster verändern, die ihn zieren. «Bizarre Muster» (so viel bedeutet omoshirogara) tauchen gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts auf, als die Mode die Moderne zu verarbeiten beginnt: Eisenbahnen, Schlachtschiffe, Flugzeuge, Kino, Mickey Mouse, Postkarten oder auch Zeitungsberichte über militärische Heldentaten. Widmen sich die Muster vor 1900 einer Synthese von Tradition und Neuem, so zelebrieren die 1920er Jahre einen optimistischen Internationalismus mit Zeppelin und Olympischen Spielen. In den 1930er Jahren verdüstern sich die Farben und Symbole, als Japan mit Nazi-Deutschland und dem faschistischen Italien paktiert.

OMOSHIROGARA präsentiert die Sammlung der japanischen Textilhistorikerin und unumstrittenen Expertin auf dem Gebiet, Yoshiko Inui (Prof.em., Tokai Universität, Sapporo [JP]). Die Präsentation wurde konzipiert von Yoshiko Inui und Roger M. Buergel, mit wissenschaftlicher Beratung durch Hans B. Thomsen (Prof. f. Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens, Universität Zürich).

Neben den Kimonos aus der Sammlung Inui zeigt OMOSHIROGARA Werke der zeitgenössischen Künstler Yu Araki, Erika Kobayashi, Jong Ok Ri, Kei Takemura und Yuichiro Tamura. Diese Werke, deren Auswahl Miwa Negoro und Mariko Mikami getroffen haben, bilden eine unverzichtbare Einführung in das Weiterleben der japanischen Historie zwischen der Meiji-Restauration (ab 1868) und dem Ende des Pazifischen Krieges (1945).

OMOSHIROGARA wird kuratiert von Roger M. Buergel, Miwa Negoro und Mariko Mikami.

OMOSHIROGARA ist die zweite Ausstellung, die Roger M. Buergel für das Museum DKM entwickelt (die erste, Barely Something in 2010, galt der künstlerischen Verbindung von westlichem Modernismus und chinesischer Tradition bei Ai Weiwei). In den kommenden Jahren sind weitere Ausstellungen Buergels für das Museum DKM geplant, die globale Verflechtungen zwischen Asien, Afrika und Europa zum Gegenstand haben.

1933: Da die japanische Regierung vom Völkerbund beschuldigt wurde, die Mandschurei (Mandschukuo auf Japanisch) unrechtmäßig annektiert zu haben, wies sie die Ergebnisse der Kommission zurück und trat im März 1933 aus dem Völkerbund aus. Abgesehen von der weißen Taube zeigt das Kimono-Muster das Gebäude des Völkerbundes in Genf, Dampfschiffe auf dem Genfer See, landwirtschaftliche Arbeiten in den Ebenen der Mandschurei, eine Landkarte mit einem Japan, das sich bis nach Korea und Nordostchina erstreckt, sowie die Flaggen der USA und Großbritanniens mit der Flagge von Mandschukuo, dem japanischen Marionettenstaat.

Stofffetzen, Dōmei-Nachrichten (Nachrichten der Nachrichtenagentur Dōmei Tsūshinsha), ca. 1930er Jahre, Foto: SDKM

Der Film folgt der Geschichte auf einem Muster aus den 1930er Jahren.

Foto: SDKM
Obi (Gürtel), Hanfmotiv mit Flaggen, ca. 1940, Foto: SDKM

Das Achsenbündnis erkannte die deutsche Vorherrschaft über den größten Teil Kontinentaleuropas, die italienische Vorherrschaft über das Mittelmeer und die japanische Vorherrschaft über Ostasien und den Pazifik an.

Juban (Unterkleid), Mickey Maus, ca. 1930s, Foto: SDKM

Mickey Mouse wird im Reich des Manga empfangen, Kimono-Muster.

Foto: SDKM
Haori (Jacke), der Slogan »Ichioku-Isshin« (Hundert Millionen, ein Herz), ca. 1940, Foto: SDKM

Wie man ein richtiges japanisches Leben vom Morgengrauen bis zur Abenddämmerung führt, Kimono-Muster.

Leihgaben

Sammlung Yoshiko Inui, Sapporo (JP)
Hakusasonso Hashimoto Kansetsu Garten & Museum (JP)
Taka Ishii Gallery, Tokio (JP)
Yutaka Kikutake Gallery, Tokio (JP)
Yuka Tsuruno Gallery, Tokio (JP)
Johann Jacobs Museum, Zürich (CH)
und private Leihgeber (DE, JP)

Kooperationspartner_innen

Ōta-Kunstmuseum, Tokio (JP)
Gallery Q, Tokio (JP)
Keio Universitätsbibliothek, Tokio (JP)
Kogakuin Universitätsbibliothek, Tokio (JP)
Takashimaya Historisches Museum, Osaka (JP)
Das Museum von Kyoto (JP)


Diese Ausstellung wird gefördert und unterstützt von:

Werke in der Ausstellung

Raum I

Erika Kobayashi:

OLYMPIA 1936 Silver Road and the Olympics, Sankt Joachimsthal, Bohemia, 2019
C-Print, Spiegel
35,6 × 43,2 cm φ9,2 cm

Dollar, 2017
Uranglas, Spiegel, Ultraviolettlampe
61 × 41 × 7,5 cm φ70 cm

„The eternal source dedicated to the highest.“Temple of Hera in the Sacred Grove of Olympia.”, 2019
Tinte, japanische Tinte, japanisches Papier, Spiegel
95 × 60 cm

Uran and Uranus Pitchblende (accursed stone) / Uran, 2017
Tinte, Tintenstrahldruck
21 × 21 cm

Uran and Uranus Uranus, 2017
Tinte, Tintenstrahldruck
21 × 21 cm

3 Coures Maps The Course for the Berlin Olympic Games Torch Relay: Olympia-Berlin, 1936, 2019
Acrylfarbe, Tinte, Leinwand, LED
53 × 80,3 cm

3 Coures Maps The Planned Course for the Tokyo Olympic Games Torch Relay: Olympia -Tokyo, 1940, 2019
Acrylfarbe, Tinte, Leinwand, LED
53 × 80,3 cm

Her, 2019
Bleistift, Tinte, japanische Tinte, Baumwollpapier
56 × 45,7 cm

Her, 2019
Bleistift, Tinte, japanische Tinte, Baumwollpapier
56 × 45,7 cm

Her, 2019
Bleistift, Tinte, japanische Tinte, Baumwollpapier
56 × 45,7 cm

Her, 2019
Bleistift, Tinte, japanische Tinte, Baumwollpapier
56 × 45,7 cm

Her, 2019
Bleistift, Tinte, japanische Tinte, Baumwollpapier
56 × 45,7 cm

Ex Occidente Lux, 2019
Sprühfarbe, Spiegel
56 × 140 cm

Fission U234, 2019
Tinte, Tintenstrahldruck
21 × 21 cm

Fission Ba141, Kr92, 2019
Tinte, Tintenstrahldruck
21 × 21 cm

3 Coures Maps The Planned Course for the Delivery of Uranium from Nazi Germany to the Empire of Japan: Sankt Joachimsthal – Portsmouth – (Tokyo), 1945, 2019
Acrylfarbe, Tinte, Leinwand, LED
45,5 × 27,3 cm

Little Boy August 6, 1945 8:15 am, 2017
Sprühfarbe, Spiegel
14,8 × 21 cm

Fat Man August 9, 1945 11:02 am, 2017
Sprühfarbe, Spiegel
14,8 × 21 cm

Raum V

RI Jong Ok:

Mt. Fuji, 2021
Sumi-Tusche, Bleistift, Acryl auf Papier mit Tafel
50 × 72,7 cm

n. a.:

Haori lining with the design of Kansetsu Hashimoto’s painting Mu-lan
Textil (gerahmt)
68, 9 cm W: 72,2 cm

Menü