When Air Is Still Around (premiere)

KAISER ANTONINO DANCE ENSEMBLE

Saturday, 06.11.2021, 7.00 – 8.00 pm

.

 

When Air Is Still Around, Kaiser Antonino Dance Ensemble, Photography: Sharon Zindany
When Air Is Still Around, Kaiser Antonino Dance Ensemble, Photography: Sharon Zindany

In January 2020, Avi Kaiser and Sergio Antonino started to work on a new piece, the premiere of which was scheduled for March 2020. With the outbreak of the pandemic and subsequent lockdown, everything needed to be put on hold. At the beginning of June 2020, Kaiser / Antonino began again to deal with the choreography, but now with a look back and a perspective on global events. Some aspects, like the title itself, gained in importance, the similarity between the original inspiration and the current reality became almost unbearable.

Is happiness still possible in a world that seems to be collapsing both physically and morally? In their new work “When Air Is Still Around” Avi Kaiser and Sergio Antonino confront themselves with the body, with nature, the environment and their relationship. Their choreography contains original fragments and variations from the symphonies of Ludwig van Beethoven, whose 250th birthday was celebrated worldwide in 2020. Beethoven’s works can be understood as a grandiose apotheosis and praise of the greatness of nature, but at the same time also its destructive power. The 6th Symphony, also known as the Pastorale, seems to have become a symbol of the change in our planet and of the struggle to save it. With fragments of the 6th, 7th and 9th symphonies and other musical material, Kaiser and Antonino immerse themselves in this conflict-ridden and complex field of feelings.

 

 

A production by the Kaiser Antonino Dance Ensemble, The Roof-TanzRaum and the 41st Duisburger Akzente. Supported by the Landesbüro NRW Freie Darstellende Künste, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW and the city of Duisburg.

Menu

When Air Is Still Around (Premiere)

KAISER ANTONINO DANCE ENSEMBLE

Samstag, 06.11.2021, 19.00 – 20.00 Uhr

Kaiser Antonino Dance Ensemble, "When Air Is Still Around", © Sharon Zindany
Kaiser Antonino Dance Ensemble, "When Air Is Still Around", © Sharon Zindany

Im Januar 2020 begannen Avi Kaiser und Sergio Antonino mit der Arbeit an einem neuen Stück, dessen Uraufführung für März dieses Jahres geplant war. Mit dem Ausbruch der Pandemie und anschließendem Lockdown haben sie das Werk „eingefroren“. Anfang Juni dann begannen Kaiser/Antonino erneut, sich mit der Choreographie zu befassen, nun allerdings mit dem Rückblick und der Perspektive auf das globale Geschehen. Manche Aspekte, wie auch der Titel selbst, gewannen an Bedeutung, die Ähnlichkeit zwischen der ursprünglichen Inspiration und der aktuellen Realität wurde nahezu unerträglich

Ist Glück noch möglich in einer Welt, die sowohl physisch als auch moralisch zusammenzubrechen scheint? Avi Kaiser und Sergio Antonino konfrontieren sich in ihrem neuen Werk „When Air Is Still Around“ mit Körper, mit Natur, Umwelt und ihrer Beziehung. Ihre Choreographie enthält Originalfragmente und Variationen aus den Sinfonien Ludwig van Beethovens, dessen 250. Geburtstag im Jahr 2020 weltweit gefeiert wird. Beethovens Werke kann man als grandiose Apotheose und Lobpreisung der Großartigkeit der Natur, zugleich aber auch ihre zerstörerische Kraft begreifen. Die 6. Sinfonie, auch als Pastorale bekannt, scheint zu einem Symbol für die Veränderung unseres Planeten geworden zu sein und für den Kampf um seine Rettung. Mit Fragmenten der 6., 7. und der 9. Symphonie und mit weiterem musikalischem Material tauchen Kaiser und Antonino in dieses konfliktreiche und komplexe Feld der Empfindungen ein.

 

 

 

Eine Produktion des Kaiser Antonino Dance Ensemble, The Roof-TanzRaum und der 41. Duisburger Akzente. Unterstützt durch das Landesbüro NRW Freie Darstellende Künste, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW und der Stadt Duisburg.

Menü